DTS Worker-Owners

Meet The Worker-Owners

Downtown Sounds Workers Cooperative, Inc is a full service small college town music store which was founded in 1976 as Downtown Sounds, Inc . The employees took over ownership as a workers cooperative on May 1st, 2019. We sell top brands of guitars, amps, drums, keyboards and recording gear. We sell both new and used instruments, and have an excellent repair shop for both guitars and amps.


Tom Shea

Guitar Repair, Sales, Music School — tom@downtownsounds.com
Tom Shea heads the guitar repair department at our co-op, along with co-op member Jason Carpenter and luthier, Zach Muffoletto. As a musician, Tom has appeared on many recordings and performed with: Hoolapopper, Scud Mountain Boys, Ray Mason Band, Lonesome Brothers, as well as performing solo.

Dave Trenholm

Accounts, Billing, Salesdave@downtownsounds.com
Dave has been playing professionally in the area for over 20 years and has been a member of the bands King Radio, Free Range Cats, Soul Magnets and many others. He holds a BA in Music from the University of Massachusetts. Dave teaches guitar, saxophone, flute, clarinet, bass, and ukulele. He’s been teaching at Downtown Sounds for over 10 years.

Aaron Borucki

Sales, Orderingaaron@downtownsounds.com
Aaron Borucki plays bass, guitar, keyboards and drums. Outside of work, he runs his own computer-based recording studio Something Studios and performs with his groups The Smokey Wambas, The True Believers, Merene and The Trials & Tribulations.

Dana Wilde

Music School, Marketing, Outreachdana@downtownsounds.com
Dana plays drums in Ex-Temper, and took her first drum lessons at Downtown Sounds as a late-bloomer. You can listen to her 90-second radio speech on the subject, and read the accompanying interview plus a feature in the Daily Hampshire Gazette. She has a passion for adult beginnership and getting the tools of rock & roll into the hands of more girls and women. Dana is known for her visual art and creativity groups, and is working on a book and a podcast about creativity in the context of our increasingly anti-creativity culture.

Mike Benoit

Sales, Reverb, Adminmike@downtownsounds.com
Coming soon.

Jason Carpenter

Sales, Reverb, Adminjason@downtownsounds.com
Coming soon.